Lusophone Competition Network

​The Lusophone Competition Network, created in 2004, with the Rio de Janeiro Declaration, has as its members the authorities responsible for competition issues in the Portuguese Speaking Countries: Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guiné Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé e Principe and East Timor. Having been a founding member of the Lusophone Competition Network, close cooperation with the Portuguese Speaking Countries is a priority in the international activity of the PCA.

The Lusophone Competition Network aims to promote technical cooperation between its members, having recognised the importance of competition to sustainable economic development, with the objective of creating and consolidating the fundaments of competition systems in light of international good practices.

In the framework of the Lusophone Competition Network, Members have met both multilaterally and bilaterally.

In the spirit of cooperation of the Lusophone Competition Network, the AdC has signed two Technical Cooperation Agreements, with, on the one hand, the agencies of the Brazilian System of Competition Policy (BSCP) – consisting of three agencies: the Administrative Council for Economic Defence (CADE), the Economic Law Office (SDE) in the Ministry of Justice, and the Secretariat for Economic Monitoring (SEAE) in the Ministry of Finance – and, on the other, the National Directorate for Commerce of Mozambique.

The AdC, with the objective of promoting activities of the Lusophone Competition Network, signed a Memorandum of Understanding with UNCTAD.

In this context, the AdC and UNCTAD have collaborated in the organisation of the multilateral meetings of the Lusophone Competition Network, and in UNCTAD technical cooperation initiatives in Portuguese Speaking Countries.